World Cup draw made


The draw for the World Cup was made this evening with World champions France beginning their defence of the cup against the winners of the Intercontinental play-off 1 (United Arab Emirates, Australia or Peru) in Group D. The group also includes Denmark and Tunisia.
England were drawn against the USA, Iran,and the winners of Wales/Scotland/ Ukraine’s play-off in Group B. They start their campaign against Iran before facing the USA in their second game, with their third group-stage opponents yet to be determined.
The tournament’s opening game will see hosts Qatar face Ecuador in Al Khor on November 21. The final will be played at the Lusail Stadium in Doha a week before Christmas on Sunday, December 18.
Four matches will be played each day during the group stage, with the winners and runners-up progressing to the round of 16.

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
Group B: England, Iran, USA, European play-off*
Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
Group D: France, Intercontinental play-off 1*, Denmark, Tunisia
Group E: Spain, Intercontinental play-off 2*, Germany, Japan
Group F: Belgium, Ghana, Morocco, Croatia
Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
Group H: Portugal, Canada, Uruguay, South Korea
Intercontinental play-off 1*

Group stage: November 21 – December 2
Round of 16: December 3-6
Quarter-finals: December 9/10
Semi-finals: December 13/14
Final: December 18