Ladies FootballLadies GAASportsUncategorized

All too easy for Galway Ladies against their great rivals


Galway 5-11

Mayo 0-12

It was all too easy for Galway as they advanced to the TG4 Ladies Senior Football Championship semi-final with victory over their neighbours and Connacht rivals Mayo.

When these two sides met in the Connacht Final a few months back there was just two points between them in the end with the Tribeswomen coming out on top. This time around they upped their performance to book their place in the last four for the first time since 2014.

Caitriona Cormican, Ailbhe Davoren and Roisin Leonard scored three first half goals to help Galway to a 3-06 to 0-06 lead at the break. The signs were ominous then.

Mayo just couldn’t get into the game. Star forward Leonard got her second goal just four minutes into the second half and it killed off Mayo’s weak challenge.

Despite Mayo opening the scoring Galway took a hold of the game and were three up in the 15th minute. Grace Kelly kicked over Mayo’s second point three minutes later but Galway got two quick goals from Carmicon and Davoren

Five minutes from the break Galway got a third goal with Roisin Leonard finding the back of the net. Galway were superb in the attack and Mayo just couldn’t contain them.

It got worse for Mayo four minutes into the second half when Leanne Coen got a fourth goal for her side. Fiona Doherty and Grace Kelly got points for Mayo as they tried to find a way back into the game.

Mayo needed goals and they couldn’t find them. Their netminder Laura Brennan pulled off an excellent save in the 43rd minute to deny Galway another goal. It got worse for Mayo late on when Danielle Caldwell and Sarah Rowe were sinbinned. Galway’s Sinead Burke also received a yellow card.

Seven minutes from time Roisin Leonard got her second goal of the game and her side’s fifth as the Tribeswomen marched into the last four inflicting a heavy defeat on their great rivals Mayo.


Scorers: Galway – Roisin Leonard 2-2 (1f), Leanne Coen 1-4, Ailbhe Davoren 1-1, Tracey Leonard 0-4 (1f), Caitriona Cormican 1-0. Mayo – Grace Kelly 0-5 (4f), Fiona Doherty 0-5, Niamh Kelly 0-1, Sinead Cafferky 0-1.


Galway: Lisa Murphy; Noelle Connolly, Sarah Lynch, Sinead Burke; Emer Flaherty, Nicola Ward, Charlotte Cooney; Louise Ward, Ailbhe Davoren; Olivia Divilly, Tracey Leonard, Caitriona Cormican; Sarah Conneally, Roisin Leonard, Leanne Coen.

Subs: Lisa Gannon for Lynch (38), Noelle Connolly for Flaherty (45), Emma Reaney for Divilly (55)


Mayo: Laura Brennan; Emma Lowther, Nicola O’Malley, Danielle Caldwell; Rachel Kearns, Clodagh McManamon, Kathryn Sullivan; Noirin Moran, Dayna Finn; Sarah Mulvihill, Fiona Doherty, Sinead Cafferky; Niamh Kelly, Sarah Rowe, Grace Kelly.

Subs: Roisin Flynn for Mulvihill (36), Emma Needham for Moran (45), Leona Ryder for McManamon (54), Maire Reilly for Kearns (55), Tamara O’Connor for G Kelly (58)


Referee: Niall McCormack (Laois)