Derry overcome soft Waterford border


Waterford 01-08(11) Derry 02-12 (18)

Derry have continued their impressive start to this year’s league, as they have now made it three wins from three by easily seeing off Waterford in Fraher field as we near the half way stage of the league.

The sides were level at the interval at 1-5 apiece, with the Derry goal coming on the stroke of half time from the boot of Shane Mc Guigan.

The second half was a very physical battle as Derry had two players sent off and with just ten minutes left the sides were level at 1-8 apiece.

From then on Derry began to hit top form scoring 1-4 without reply with the all important goal coming from Paul Mc Neill.

Up next for Derry is a home match against Wicklow in two weeks’ time.

Waterford: Aaron Beresford, Aidan Trihy, Ray O ’Ceallaigh, James McGrath, Sean O’Donovan, Shane Ryan, Brian Looby, Shane Aherne, Tommy Prendergast, Jack Mullaney (0-01), Connor Murray (0-02), Sean Whelan-Barrett (1-01), Fearghal Ó Cuirrín (0-01), Jason Curry (0-02f), Michael Curry.

Subs used: Kieran Power for Tommy Prendergast and Jason Gleeson (0-01) for Fearghal Ó Cuirrín (both ht), Donie Fitzgerald for Aidan Trihy (60), David Hallihan for Jason Gleeson (66).

Derry Thomas Mallon, Paul McNeill (1-00), Brendan Rogers, Niall Keenan, Karl McKaigue (0-01), Michael McEvoy, Eamon McGill, Christopher McKaigue, Emmet Bradley (0-02f), Padraig Cassidy, Ciaran McFaul, Jason Rocks, Niall Toner (0-01), Shane McGuigan (1-03), Christopher Bradley (0-03, 0-01f).

Subs used: Connor McAtamney (0-01) for Michael McEvoy (56), Enda Lynn (0-01) for Emmet Bradley (59), Patrick Coney for Christopher Bradley and Connor Mulholland for Niall Keenan (both 73).

By Johnny O’ Connell