Second League win for Wexford


Wexford 00-12 Wicklow 00-09

Wexford have picked up their second league win of the campaign as they had three-points to spare against a very spirited Wicklow side.

It was Wexford who started the shaper as they ran into an 0-8 to 0-1 lead, but scores from Darren Hayden and Conor McGraynor eased the Wicklow nerves. At the break, Wexford held a 0-11 to 0-4 lead.

There was a rip-roaring start to the second half as Jody Merringan’s effort on goal was superbly saved by Matt Doyle and he had to content himself with a point. Mark Kenny and Chris O’ Brien also chipped in with points as the lead was cut down to four points.

In the end however, Wexford were the better team as they ran out 0-12 to 0-9-point winners.

Wexford Team: Matt Doyle, Michael Furlong, Gavin Sheehan, Conor Carty, Glen Malone, Brian Malone, Eoin Porter, Daithi Waters, Niall Hughes, Ben Brosnan, Jonathan Bealin, Conor Devitt, Barry O’ Connor, Eoghan Nolan, John Tubritt

Scorers: Niall Hughes (0-1), Jonathan Bealin (0-4, 0-2f), Conor Devitt (0-2), Barry O’ Connor (0-1), Ben Brosnan (0-2), Kevin O’ Grady (0-1), Niall Hughes (0-1)

Subs: Tiarnan Rossiter for Brosnan (52); Tom Byrne for O’Connor (63); O’ Grady for Eoin Porter (70).

Wicklow team: Robert Lambert, Oisin Manning, Ross O’ Brien, Eoin Murtagh, David Devereaux, Jamie Snell, Darragh Fitzgerald, Padraig O’ Toole, Dean Healy, Darren Hayden, Conor McGraynor, Conor Healy, Mark Kenny, Chris O’ Brien, Daniel Keane

Scorers: Danie Keane (0-1), Darren Hayden (0-1), Conor McGraynor (0-2, 0-1f), Jody Merrigan (0-1), Mark Kenny (0-1), Chris O’ Brien (0-1), Stephen Duffy (0-2, 0-1f)

Subs Stephan Duffy for Conor McGraynor, Jody Merrigan for Conor Healy (HT), James Stafford for Daniel Keane, Gearoid Murphy for Chris O’ Brien, Saoirse Kearon for Darren Hayden.

By Johnny O’ Connell